Background Information

The Middle St. Croix watershed encompasses approximately 19.8 square miles and is located in the east-central part of Washington County. A distinction exists between the Middle St. Croix watershed and the other watersheds of Washington County in that the Middle St. Croix watershed has many small, parallel watersheds that all flow to the St. Croix, whereas the other watersheds in the County generally have one major drainage with a headwaters and outlet. Land use in the watershed is evenly distributed between agricultural uses, rural residential and high-density residential/commercial land uses.

The ten member communities of the MSCWMO are: Afton, Bayport, Baytown Township, Lakeland, Lakeland Shores, Lake St. Croix Beach, Oak Park Heights, St. Mary’s Point, Stillwater, and West Lakeland Township. The area and percentage of the member communities is included in the table below:

The Ten Communities of the MSCWMO

Community Area (sq mile) % Area
Afton 0.18 1
Bayport 1.7 9
Baytown Township 3.85 19
Lakeland 2.06 10
Lakeland Shores 0.3 2
Lake St. Croix Beach 0.55 3
Oak Park Heights 2.17 11
St. Mary’s Point 0.66 3
Stillwater 3.35 17
West Lakeland Township 4.99 25
Total 19.81 100